EventID: 534. The user has not been granted the requested logon type at this machine


On doing a windows security update I started getting this error in my event log, and none of the users could login to the secure sections of the IIS site using basic authentication. I restarted the server and found out that firewall got enabled itself and locked RDP out as well πŸ™‚ Anyway the server guys sorted out the firewall access issue, however in order to sort out the login issue I had to make changes to the local security policy. The two properties you need to check in Local Policies -> User Rights Assignment are “Access the computer from the network” and “Deny access to this computer from the network”. Make sure that your required group is present in the first policy and excluded from the Deny policy, since Deny policy overwrides all allow policies. So after some effort I was finally able to get everything working again. Hence the conclusion is I have asked my company to get a MAC for me πŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “EventID: 534. The user has not been granted the requested logon type at this machine

  1. Thank you very much for posting this solution. It resolved my problem! I laughed at your comment: “Hence the conclusion is I have asked my company to get a MAC for me.” πŸ™‚

Leave a comment